Alexandria College chosen to train Peace Officers participating in a new state grant program.

Jul 1, 2024 | 9:46 AM
With Peace officers in high demand, Gov. Tim Walz announced on June 5, 2024, that 35 agencies across Minnesota will receive funding for the new Intensive Comprehensive Peace Officer Education and Training (ICPOET) Grant Program. The selected agency receiving the grant will sponsor 50 candidates with two- and four-year degrees who want to transition into a career in law enforcement.

To accomplish this goal and meet the needs of Minnesota, Alexandria Technical & Community College was one of only two schools in the state chosen to train prospective peace officers. The second school was Hennepin Technical College. 

The candidates will be held to the same standards as traditional peace officer students. Still, they will go through a more intensive and rigorous program due to the accelerated nature of the training. Alexandria College will be conducting its training from October 1 through February 2025 while Hennepin Technical College trains from October 14 through March 2025.  

Alexandria College’s Customized Training office has been busy coordinating with the Dean of Police Training and Education to be ready for training the recruits. The college has secured off-campus housing for the trainees, a cost reimbursed through the grant. The grant will also cover training materials and required uniforms for the program.  

“This nearly cost-free transition provides a distinctive avenue for those eager to contribute to their communities in a new capacity,” said Karin Tank, Alexandria College’s Customized Training Representative. “Candidates can realize their dream of becoming a police officer and helping their communities while addressing real staffing challenges within agencies across Minnesota.” 

Some agencies are still accepting applications, while others have filled their sponsorships. People interested in becoming peace officers should contact one of the agencies as soon as possible to see if there are open slots. Recruiting deadlines vary, but they are fast approaching. ICPOET candidates must be hired by September to begin training on time. 

The 35 law enforcement agencies that are receiving the inaugural round of funding are:

  1. Belle Plaine Police
  2. Big Stone County Sheriff
  3. Blaine Police
  4. Bloomington Police
  5. Brooklyn Park Police
  6. Carver County Sheriff
  7. Chisago County Sheriff
  8. Columbia Heights Police
  9. Faribault Police
  10. Freeborn County Sheriff
  11. Hennepin County Sheriff
  12. Hopkins Police
  13. Lakeville Police
  14. Lino Lakes Police
  15. Maple Grove Police
  16. Medina Police
  17. Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe Police
  18. Minneapolis Police
  19. Minneapolis-St. Paul Int’l Airport Police
  20. Moorhead Police
  21. New Brighton Police
  22. Orono Police
  23. Owatonna Police
  24. Prairie Island Indian Community Police
  25. Richfield Police
  26. Rosemount Police
  27. Roseville Police
  28. Sartell Police
  29. St. Louis Park Police
  30. St. Paul Police
  31. Wadena Police
  32. Waseca County Sheriff
  33. West Hennepin Public Safety
  34. Woodbury Public Safety
  35. Wyoming Police

Recent News: